101 Bloor Street West
Toronto ON, M5S 0A1
P: 416-961-8800
Toll Free (Ontario Only): 1-888-534-2222
F: 416-961-8822

Ontario College of Teachers logo

Four teachers consult around a table

Find a Teacher


A 37-member Council governs the College. Council develops and approves policies that regulate the teaching profession in Ontario. There are 14 Council committees.

Council is made up of 23 members of the College elected by their peers and 14 members of the public appointed by the provincial government. Chair of the Council is Nicole van Woudenberg, OCT.

Council meets at least four times a year and meetings are open to the public.

Council members are elected for three-year terms. Notice of an election, a call for nominations and candidate information is published in Professionally Speaking and on this site.

Feedback from focus group sessions helps the College’s 37-member governing Council and College staff act with increased agility and efficiency in its regulatory role of serving the public interest.

101 Bloor Street West, Toronto ON, M5S 0A1, P: 416.961.8800 / Toll Free (Ontario Only): 1.888.534.2222 / F: 416.961.8822 / info@oct.ca

© 2020 Ontario College of Teachers

Back To Top