101 Bloor Street West
Toronto ON, M5S 0A1
P: 416-961-8800
Toll Free (Ontario Only): 1-888-534-2222
F: 416-961-8822
info@oct.ca

Ontario College of Teachers logo

Four teachers consult around a table

Find a Teacher

Oath/Affirmation and Ethics

I, ___, of the ___, in the Province of Ontario, affirm and say:

I will faithfully and impartially, to the best of my knowledge and skill, perform the duties of a member of the (Council or committee or roster) of the College and any committees of the Council on which I sit.

In so doing, I will ensure that the guiding principle in the performance of my duties is the duty to serve and protect the public interest, which is my duty as a (Council or committee or roster member) and a duty of the College.

I will perform the duties of my position without favour or ill will to any person or entity.

I will ensure that other memberships, directorships, voluntary or paid positions or affiliations that I may hold will not interfere or conflict with the performance of my duties as a (Council or committee or roster) member.

As a (Council or committee or roster) member, I will be respectful of management’s role and their professional responsibilities. I acknowledge that I am expected to fulfil my responsibility through the Council’s direction to the Registrar and CEO, and recognize the Registrar and CEO’s responsibility to manage the affairs and functions of the College.

So help me God. [Omitted by Appointees completing an Affirmation]

Affirmed remotely by ___ stated as being in the ___ in the Province of Ontario before me in the City of Toronto in the Province of Ontario on the ___ day of ___, 2022 in accordance with O. Reg. 431/20, Administering Oath or Declaration Remotely.

___________________
[Name]
Commissioner for Oaths

____________________
(Council or committee or roster) Member Name

Code of Ethics

Council, Subcommittee, Committee and Roster members shall, in the performance of their duties:

  • Comply with the provisions of the Ontario College of Teachers Act, 1996, (the “Act”) the regulations made under the Act, the bylaws of the College, and all other corollary statutes and regulations to which the College adheres, including the Ontario Human Rights Code, Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, S.O., 2005, c. 11, Ontarians with Disabilities Act, S.O., 2001, c. 32, Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms Part 1 Schedule B Constitution Act 1982, Canadian Human Rights Act of 1977, Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada: Calls to Action, United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child, United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, and the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities.
  • Familiarize themselves with the Act, the regulations, the bylaws, and any other records and documents that may be necessary for the performance of the duties of their office.
  • Take part in the committee work of the College, if and as applicable by virtue of their appointment, and serve actively during their term of office.
  • Ensure that they do not disclose or discuss confidential matters that come to their attention in the performance of their duties, except as required by law or as directed by the Council or the Chair.
  • Recognize the distinction between their corporate and individual authority and conduct themselves accordingly with College staff, members of the College and the public.
  • Exercise care, diligence, skill and prudence in carrying out the business of the College.
  • Conscientiously and faithfully perform their statutory duties and conduct themselves professionally at all times, in particular while conducting College business and interacting with staff and other members of the governing structure, and complete their work to the best of their abilities in a timely manner and in a way that advances the College's strategic priorities.
  • Seek to enhance the public’s perception of the College and the profession of teaching.

101 Bloor Street West, Toronto ON, M5S 0A1, P: 416.961.8800 / Toll Free (Ontario Only): 1.888.534.2222 / F: 416.961.8822 / info@oct.ca

© 2022 Ontario College of Teachers

Back To Top

101, rue Bloor Ouest
Toronto ON, M5S 0A1
TÉL. : 416-961-8800
Sans frais en Ontario : 1-888-534-2222
TÉLÉC. : 416-961-8822
info@oeeo.ca

Mot symbole de l'Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l'Ontario

Quatre enseignants se consultent autour d’une table.

Trouver un membre

Serment ou affirmation solennelle et code d'éthique

Je, ___, de/d' ___, en Ontario, fait l’affirmation solennelle suivante :

Je m’acquitterai loyalement et impartialement, au mieux de mes connaissances et de ma compétence, des fonctions de membre suppléant/de membre du conseil/de membre d’un comité de l’Ordre.

Ce faisant, je veillerai à me laisser guider, dans l’exercice de mes fonctions, par le devoir de servir et de protéger l’intérêt public, devoir qui incombe tant à moi, en ma qualité de membre suppléant/de membre du conseil/de membre d’un comité, qu’à l’Ordre.

Je m’acquitterai de mes fonctions sans faire preuve de favoritisme ni de mauvaise volonté à l’égard d’une personne ou d’une entité.

Je veillerai à ce qu’aucune charge d’administrateur, aucune appartenance ou affiliation ni aucun poste, rémunéré ou non, n’entrave l’exercice de mes fonctions de membre suppléant/de membre du conseil/de membre d’un comité ni ne soit incompatible avec lui.

En tant que membre du conseil/membre d’un comité/membre suppléant, je ferai preuve de respect envers le rôle des membres de la direction et leurs responsabilités professionnelles. Je reconnais que je dois assumer mes responsabilités selon les directives que donnent le conseil et le registraire et chef de la direction, et je reconnais la responsabilité du registraire et chef de la direction de gérer les affaires et les activités de l’Ordre.

Ainsi Dieu me soit en aide. [omis dans l’affirmation solennelle]

Affirmation faite à distance par ___, qui déclare être dans la ville de/d' ___, en Ontario, devant moi dans la ville de Toronto, en Ontario, le ___ du mois de/d' ___ 2022, conformément au Règlement de l’Ontario 431/20, Prestation des serments ou réception des déclarations à distance. 

____________________
Commissaire à l’assermentation

____________________
Nom du membre suppléant/du membre du conseil/du membre d’un comité


Code de déontologie

Dans l’exercice de ses fonctions, tout membre du conseil d’un comité ou d’un sous-comité et tout membre suppléant :

  • Se conforme aux dispositions de la Loi de 1996 sur l’Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Ontario (la «Loi»), à ses règlements connexes et aux règlements administratifs de l’Ordre, ainsi qu’à toutes les autres lois et tous les règlements corolaires auxquels l’Ordre adhère, notamment le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario, la Loi sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario, L.O., 2005, chap. 11, la Loi de sur les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario, L.O., 2001, chap. 32, la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, partie 1, annexe B, la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982, la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne de 1977, la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada : Appels à l’action, la Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits de l’enfant, la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones, et la Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits des personnes handicapées.
  • Se familiarise avec la Loi, les règlements, les règlements administratifs et les dossiers et documents nécessaires à l’exercice de ses fonctions.
  • Participe aux travaux des comités de l’Ordre, le cas échéant en vertu de sa nomination, et est un membre actif pendant la durée de son mandat.
  • S’assure de ne pas divulguer les questions confidentielles portées à son attention à titre de membre du conseil ni d’en discuter, et ce, dans le cadre de ses fonctions, sauf si la loi l’oblige ou selon une directive du conseil ou du président.
  • Reconnait la différence entre le pouvoir du conseil et le pouvoir individuel à titre de membre du conseil et se conduit en conséquence auprès du personnel de l’Ordre, des membres de l’Ordre et du public.
  • Fait preuve de prudence, de diligence et de compétence dans l’exercice des activités de l’Ordre.
  • S’acquitte consciencieusement et fidèlement de ses fonctions prévues par la Loi et se comporte de manière professionnelle à tout moment, en particulier lorsqu’il s’occupe des affaires de l’Ordre et interagit avec le personnel et les autres membres de la structure de gouvernance, et accomplit son travail au mieux de ses capacités, en temps opportun et de manière à faire progresser les priorités stratégiques de l’Ordre.
  • Cherche à améliorer la perception du public à l’égard de l’Ordre et de la profession enseignante.

101, rue Bloor Ouest, Toronto ON, M5S 0A1 / TÉL. : 416.961.8800 / Sans frais en Ontario : 1.888.534.2222 / TÉLÉC. : 416.961.8822 / info@oeeo.ca

© 2022 Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l'Ontario

Back To Top