101 Bloor Street West
Toronto ON, M5S 0A1
P: 416-961-8800
Toll Free (Canada and U.S.A.): 1-888-534-2222
F: 416-961-8822

Ontario College of Teachers logo

Four teachers consult around a table

Find a Teacher

Minutes of Council Meetings

Minutes of the Meeting of the Council of the Ontario College of Teachers, held on April 10, 2000 in the Council Chambers, 6th Floor, 121 Bloor Street East, Toronto

Table of Contents

1. Call to Order and Welcome

2. Approval of Agenda

3. Business

4. Adjournment

Present: Liz Barkley, Sandi Bell, Jackie Breithaupt, Bill Bryce, Sterling Campbell, Larry Capstick, Doug Carter, Ernie Checkeris, Wayne Cornack, Patrick Daly, Margaret Dempsey, Solette Gelberg, Jean Hanson, Donna Marie Kennedy (Chair), Marilyn Laframboise, Diane Leblovic, Kathleen McFadyen, George Merrett, Karen Mitchell, Larry Mongeon, Harry Mulvale, Allen Pearson, Ron Rambarran, Cecilia Reynolds, William Rogers, David Somer, Frances Thorne, Clarice West-Hobbs, Margaret Wilson (Registrar)

Speaker: Lise St. Eloi

Guests: L. Thomas Forbes (McCarthy Tétrault)

Staff: Kathy Anstett, Carmen Aranas, Joe Atkinson, Margaret Aubé, Linda Grant, Genny Humby, Richard Lewko, Charlie Morrison, Patrick O’Neill, Lynda Palazzi

Regrets: Paul Charron, John Slade, John Cruickshank

1. Call to Order and Welcome

The Chair, Donna Marie Kennedy, called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Council was informed that Larry Capstick would join Kathleen McFadyen as the Steering Committee in the absence of John Cruickshank.

The Speaker outlined a suggested process for the conduct of the meeting which was endorsed by those present.

2. Approval of Agenda GC20000410-55

It was moved and seconded by Steering, and


That the Agenda for the April 10, 2000 Special Meeting of Council be approved.

3. Business

3.1 Report of the Ad hoc Committee on the Issues raised in the Letter of November 10, 1999 from the Minister of Education re a Teacher Testing Program GC20000410-57C

At 9:30 am it was moved and seconded by Steering and


That Council move into an in camera session with members of Council, legal counsel and staff present.

Diane Leblovic requested a recorded vote.

Recorded Vote:

For: Against:  
Sandi Bell Liz Barkley  
Jackie Breithaupt Patrick Daly  
Bill Bryce Solette Gelberg  
Sterling Campbell Diane Leblovic  
Larry Capstick Harry Mulvale  
Doug Carter   Cecilia Reynolds  
Ernie Checkeris David Somer  

Wayne Cornack


Margaret Dempsey


Jean Hanson


Donna Marie Kennedy


Marilyn Laframboise


Kathleen McFadyen


George Merrett


Karen Mitchell


Larry Mongeon


Allen Pearson


Ron Rambarran


Bill Rogers


Frances Thorne


Clarice West-Hobbs

For: 21 Against: 7 Absent:  3

Council moved out of the in camera session at 4:10pm.

It was moved and seconded by Steering, and


That Council approve the release by the Ontario College of Teachers of the document Maintaining, Ensuring and Demonstrating Competency in the Teaching Profession: A Response to the Request from the Minister re a Teacher Testing Program after the meeting with the Minister of Education.

4. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 4:20 p.m.

Signed: Donna Marie Kennedy, Chair


101 Bloor Street West, Toronto, ON, M5S 0A1

Client Services:

Telephone: 416.961.8800

Toll-Free (Canada and U.S.A.): 1.888.534.2222


All Other Inquiries:

Telephone: 437.880.3000

Toll-Free (Canada and U.S.A.): 1.833.966.5588


© 2024 Ontario College of Teachers

Back To Top