101 Bloor Street West
Toronto ON, M5S 0A1
P: 416-961-8800
Toll Free (Ontario Only): 1-888-534-2222
F: 416-961-8822

Ontario College of Teachers logo

Four teachers consult around a table

Find a Teacher

Minutes of Council Meetings

Special Meeting of Council
Council Chambers, 15th Floor
101 Bloor Street West, Toronto
December 6, 2013

Minutes of the Special Meeting of Council of the Ontario College of Teachers held on December 6, 2013 in the Council Chambers, 15th Floor, 101 Bloor Street West, Toronto


1. Call to Order/Welcome.

2. Agenda.

3. Conflict of Interest

4. Business.

4.1 Bylaws - Proposed Amendment to Section 21 - Annual Membership

5. Adjournment

Minutes of the Special Meeting of Council of the Ontario College of Teachers held on December 6, 2013 in the Council Chambers, 15th Floor, 101 Bloor Street West, Toronto

Present : Stefanie Achkewich, OCT, Alexander (Sandy) Bass, OCT,
Christine Bellini, OCT, Jean-Luc Bernard, OCT, Ahmed Bouragba, OCT, Shabnum Budhwani, Marie-Louise Chartrand,
Monique Châteauvert, Angela De Palma, OCT (via teleconference),
Gale Dores, OCT, Marc Dubois, OCT, (Vice-Chair), Monika Ferenczy, OCT, Clyde Glasgow, Jacqueline Gray, OCT, Mel Greif, Allyn Janicki, OCT, Matthew Kavanagh, OCT, Bill Kirkwood, Monique Lapalme Arseneault, Shanlee Linton, OCT, Myreille Loubert, OCT,
Mary Lou Mackie, OCT, Liz Papadopoulos, OCT, (Chair), Terry Price, OCT, Susan Robertson, Vicki Shannon, OCT (via teleconference),
Louis Sloan, OCT, Demetri Vacratsis, OCT, Wes Vickers, OCT, Michael Salvatori, OCT, (Registrar)

Regrets: Maria Bouwmeester, OCT, Irene Dembek, OCT, Dobi Dawn Frenette, Robert Gagné, Pauline Smart, Kara Smith, OCT


Officers: Peter Lipman, OCT, Lori Lukinuk, Douglas McCarthy

Staff: Kim Bauer, Tan Crombie, Francine Dutrisac, OCT, Myrtle Herzenberg, Joe Jamieson, OCT, (Deputy Registrar), Richard Lewko,
Michelle Longlade, OCT, Charlie Morrison, Linda Zaks-Walker, OCT

1. Call to Order/Welcome

The Presiding Officer, Lori Lukinuk, called the meeting to order at 11:25 a.m.

It was noted that the Steering Committee members are Marc Dubois and Bill Kirkwood.

2. Agenda (GC20131206-140)

It was moved by Steering, and


That the Agenda for the December 6, 2013 Special Meeting of Council be approved.

3. Conflict of Interest

No conflicts were declared.

4. Business

4.1 Bylaws - Proposed Amendment to Section 21 - Annual Membership Fees (GC20131206-141)

The Registrar noted the Notice of Motion from the previous meeting of Council. He advised that because an increase in the annual membership fee had been approved at the previous meeting it was necessary to reflect this change in the bylaws.

It was moved by Steering, and


That Council approve that College Bylaws section 21.04 a. and b. be amended as follows:

(a) the deletion of "$138" and "2012" to be substituted by "$150" and "2014"; and

(b) the deletion of "or as may be amended from time to time, by the amendment of these bylaws", and substituted with "until amended as provided by these bylaws" to read:

21.04 The annual fee shall be:

a. $150 for 2014

b. $150 for subsequent years until amended as provided by these bylaws.

Roll Call Vote:




Achkewich, Stefanie

Bouragba, Ahmed

Bass, Sandy

Gray, Jacqueline

Bellini, Christine

Linton, Shanlee

Bernard, Jean-Luc

Vickers, Wes

Budhwani, Shabnum

Chartrand, Marie-Louise

Châteauvert, Monique

De Palma, Angela

Dores, Gale

Dubois, Marc

Ferenczy, Monika

Glasgow, Clyde

Greif, Mel


Janicki, Allyn


Kavanagh, Matthew


Kirkwood, Bill


Lapalme Arseneault, Monique


Loubert, Myreille


Mackie, Mary Lou


Papadopoulos, Liz


Price, Terry


Robertson, Susan


Shannon, Vicki


Sloan, Louis


Vacratsis, Demetri


For : 25

Against : 4

Absent: 6

5. Adjournment

The Chair noted that a package that related to the annual membership fee increase had been prepared for Council members that included:

1. A notice from the Chair of Council and the Registrar explaining how the membership fee was used.

2. A pie chart that detailed how the fee worked at the Ontario College of Teachers.

3. An infograph "Behind the 2014 Budget" detailing the Council's Budget Framework.

4. Ontario Regulatory Bodies 2013 Membership Fee Comparison chart.

These documents were distributed to Council members.

The Chair advised that the above information would be posted to the College's website following the meeting.

The Chair noted that Susan Robertson's term of office ended on March 19, 2014 and that this would be her last meeting of Council. She thanked her for her contributions to Council and to the teaching profession.

The Chair advised that Council members had raised $300 for the Philippines hurricane relief fund.

The Chair congratulated Matthew Kavanagh on the birth of his third child, a son, who was born yesterday.

The Chair welcomed former Council member, Gord Hough, to the meeting.

The Chair advised that $1,182 had been raised for the scholarship fund at the College's annual holiday season reception the previous evening.

The meeting adjourned at 11:35 a.m.

Signed: Chair, Liz Papadopoulos, OCT

Signed: Registrar, Michael Salvatori, OCT



101 Bloor Street West, Toronto ON, M5S 0A1, P: 416.961.8800 / Toll Free (Ontario Only): 1.888.534.2222 / F: 416.961.8822 / info@oct.ca

© 2022 Ontario College of Teachers

Back To Top