101 Bloor Street West
Toronto ON, M5S 0A1
P: 416-961-8800
Toll Free (Ontario Only): 1-888-534-2222
F: 416-961-8822

Ontario College of Teachers logo

Four teachers consult around a table

Find a Teacher

Minutes of Council Meetings

Minutes of the Special Meeting of the Council of the Ontario College of Teachers, held by conference call on July 7, 2000 in Council Chamber B, 6th Floor, 121 Bloor Street East, Toronto.

Table of Contents

1. Call to Order

2. Agenda

3. Business

4. Adjournment

Present: John Cruickshank (Vice-chair), Jackie Breithaupt, Bill Bryce

Present On Conference Line at 12:15 p.m.

Donna Marie Kennedy (Chair), Samy Appadurai, Liz Barkley, Douglas Brown, Larry Capstick, Doug Carter, Ernie Checkeris, Wayne Cornack, Janet Cornwall, Margaret Dempsey, Jean Hanson, Martin Kings, Diane Leblovic, Karen Mitchell, Ron Rambarran, Frances Thorne, Clarice West-Hobbs, Margaret Wilson (Registrar)

Added to Conference Line at 12:19 p.m.

Larry Mongeon

Staff: Kathy Anstett, Joe Atkinson, Margaret Aubé, Philip Carter, Linda Grant, Genny Humby, Marie-France LeFort, Richard Lewko

Regrets: Sterling Campbell, Paul Charron, Solette N. Gelberg, Marilyn Laframboise, Elayne McDermid, George Merrett, Harry Mulvale, Cecilia Reynolds, David Somer

1. Call to Order

After a false start, the teleconference connection was fully established with participants at the College at 12:15 p.m. and the roll called.

2. Agenda (GC20000707-128 )

The Agenda was approved as distributed.

3. Business

3.1 Response from the Minister of Education about the Language Proficiency Regulation and Executive Committee Review (GC20000707-129, GC20000707-130 )

Council members were given the opportunity to ask questions of staff regarding the Minister’s letter.

The Executive Committee Review of the response from the Minister of Education regarding the issue of language proficiency as an amendment to Regulation 184/97 was noted.

This issue was considered at length. During discussion, it was agreed that staff should again try to arrange a face-to-face briefing with the Minister and to ensure that the background material collected during the consultation period was forwarded to the Minister.

It was movedand seconded by Steering and


That the Minister of Education be informed that Council reaffirms its request that the Minister amend Regulation 184/97 in line with the amendment approved by Council at its June 8-9, 2000 Council Meeting, and forwarded to the Minister on June 9, 2000.

Recorded Vote

For: Against:
Liz Barkley

Samy Appadurai

Douglas Brown

Jackie Breithaupt

William Bryce

Larry Mongeon

Larry Capstick  
Doug Carter  
Ernie Checkeris  
Wayne Cornack  
Janet Cornwall  
John Cruickshank  
Patrick Daly  
Margaret Dempsey  
Donna Marie Kennedy  
Martin Kings  
Diane Leblovic  
Karen Mitchell  
Ron Rambarran  
Frances Thorne  
Clarice West-Hobbs  
For: 18 Against: 3

Jean Hanson was not on the line for the recorded vote.

4. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 1:56 p.m.

Signed: Donna Marie Kennedy, Chair


101 Bloor Street West, Toronto ON, M5S 0A1, P: 416.961.8800 / Toll Free (Ontario Only): 1.888.534.2222 / F: 416.961.8822 / info@oct.ca

© 2022 Ontario College of Teachers

Back To Top