



## **Special Meeting of Council**

Via Videoconference 101 Bloor Street West, Toronto August 7, 2020

# Minutes of the Special Meeting of Council of the Ontario College of Teachers held on August 7, 2020 Via Videoconference

### **TABLE OF CONTENTS**

		Page		
1.	Call to Order/Welcome	3		
2.	Conflict of Interest			
3.	Minutes	4		
	3.1 Meeting, June 18, 2020	4		
	3.2 In Camera Session, June 18, 2020	4		
4.	Business Arising	4		
	4.1 In Camera Session (Personnel Matters)	4		
5.	Fix the Time to Which to Adjourn	5		

# Minutes of the Special Meeting of Council of the Ontario College of Teachers held on August 7, 2020 Via Videoconference

Present: Charles Dimitry Abraham, OCT; Diane Ballantyne, OCT; Chantal Bélisle, OCT

(Deputy Registrar); Paige Bennett, OCT; John Cammarata; Bob Cooper, OCT; Chantal Côté, OCT; Irene Dembek, OCT; Elizabeth Edgar-Webkamigad, OCT; Richard Filion; Rebecca Forte, OCT; Melissa Gaffen, OCT; Tim Gernstein, OCT (Vice-Chair); Erin Glen, OCT; Mary Ellen Gucciardi, OCT; John Hamilton, OCT; Jacqueline Karsemeyer, OCT; Timothy Kwiatkowski, OCT; Todd Lalonde; Colleen Landers; Élaine Legault; Marlène Marwah; Michelle Miner Seal; Mary-Anne Mouawad, OCT; Sara Nouini, OCT; Gerry O'Reilly, OCT; Bonnie Oakes Charron; Wanda Percival; Tom Potter; Nicola Powadiuk, OCT; Vincent Rinaldo, OCT; Jonathan Rose; Nancy Saunders, OCT; Stéphane Vallée, OCT; Nicole van Woudenberg, OCT (Chair); Jennifer Wyatt, OCT; Stephen Zimmermann, OCT

Guest: Jennifer McAleer, Partner, Fasken Martineau

Presiding

Officer: Lori Lukinuk

Staff: Tan Crombie; Roch Gallien, OCT; Linda Lacroix, OCT; Richard Lewko; Charlie

Morrison; Linda Zaks-Walker, OCT; Kim Bauer

#### 1. Call to Order/Welcome

The Presiding Officer, Lori Lukinuk, called the meeting to order at 9 a.m.

It was noted that Tim Gernstein and Colleen Landers comprised the Steering Committee.

The Chair of Council opened the meeting by acknowledging that Council members were gathered from various lands that were the traditional territory of the Wendat, the Anishnaabeg, Haudenosaunee, Métis and the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation.

The Chair welcomed all Council members, staff and Council's guest, Jennifer McAleer, to the meeting. She extended a special welcome and introduction for newly appointed member Todd Lalonde.

The Chair also provided a brief review of the preferred etiquette for conducting meetings effectively.

#### 2. Conflict of Interest

In response to a member's question, the Presiding Officer confirmed that members being present for a discussion of minutes for meetings at which they had not be in attendance would not create a conflict.

No conflicts were declared.

#### 3. Minutes

#### **3.1 Meeting, June 18, 2020** (GC20200807-**55**)

It was moved by Steering, and by consensus

#### CARRIED,

That the Minutes of the June 18, 2020 Special Meeting of Council be approved.

#### 3.2 In Camera Session, June 18, 2020 (GC20200807-56C)

A correction to the minutes was recommended and the Presiding Officer noted that as a result, the minutes would be considered and approved in an in camera session.

It was moved by Nicole van Woudenberg, seconded by Colleen Landers and without objection

#### CARRIED,

That Council suspend Standing Procedure Rule 2.11 In-Camera Session Section g, bullet 3 that states, "attendance at this subsequent in-camera session will be restricted to those who attended the previous in-camera session."

The Presiding Officer confirmed that the suspension would apply only for the duration of the August 7, 2020 meeting.

#### 4. Business Arising

#### 4.1 In Camera Session (Personnel Matters)

It was moved by Steering, and

#### CARRIED,

That Council move in camera to discuss personnel matters, with only Council members, the Deputy Registrar, the Presiding Officer, Independent Legal Counsel and the Council and Committees Officer present.

#### eScribe vote:

For:

Charles Dimitry Abraham, Diane Ballantyne, Paige Bennett, John Cammarata, Chantal Côté, Irene Dembek, Elizabeth Edgar-Webkamigad, Richard Filion, Rebecca Forte, Melissa Gaffen, Tim Gernstein, Erin Glen, Mary Ellen Gucciardi, John Hamilton, Jacqueline Karsemeyer, Timothy Kwiatkowski, Todd Lalonde, Colleen Landers, Élaine Legault, Marlène Marwah, Michelle Miner Seal, Mary-Ann Mouawad, Sara Nouini, Gerry O'Reilly, Bonnie Oakes Charron, Wanda Percival, Nicola Powadiuk, Vincent Rinaldo, Jonathan Rose, Nancy Saunders, Stéphane Vallée, Nicole van Woudenberg, Jennifer Wyatt, Stephen Zimmermann

Against: Bob Cooper, Tom Potter

Result	<u>For</u> : 34	Against: 2	Abstain: 0	Absent: 0
--------	-----------------	------------	------------	-----------

Council moved in camera at 9:40 a.m. and moved out of the in camera session at 12:35 p.m.

Preparation time of one day was confirmed. The Chair also confirmed that all members were eligible to claim a per diem of one half-day for the meeting.

### 5. Fix the Time to Which to Adjourn

It was moved by Stephen Zimmermann, seconded by Diane Ballantyne and by consensus **CARRIED**,

That Council move to fix the time to which to adjourn to August 11, 2020 at 1 p.m.

In response to a question raised by a Council member, the Chair of Council confirmed that a legal opinion would be sought regarding the possible release of documents considered during the in camera sessions.

The meeting recessed at 12:40 p.m.	
Signed:	Signed:
Chair, Nicole van Woudenberg, OCT	Deputy Registrar, Chantal Bélisle, OCT
Dated:	Dated: