101, rue Bloor Ouest
Toronto ON, M5S 0A1
TÉL. : 416-961-8800
Sans frais en Ontario : 1-888-534-2222
TÉLÉC. : 416-961-8822
info@oeeo.ca

Mot symbole de l'Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l'Ontario

Deux enseignantes en conversation

Trouver un membre

Débat d’experts

À quoi le public s’attend-il des organismes de réglementation?

Kathy English

Kathy English

Kathy English est rédactrice publique du Toronto Star depuis 2007. Avant cela, elle a été reporter et rédactrice de six quotidiens canadiens, dont le Toronto Star et le Globe and Mail.

De 1989 à 1999, Mme English a fait partie du corps professoral de la Ryerson School of Journalism. Elle a, par la suite, lancé le site web de deux entreprises canadiennes de médias, SunMedia (lifewise.ca) et Transcontinental Media (mochasofa.ca). De plus, elle a dirigé le lancement du site BabyCenter Canada, basé à San Francisco, une référence incontournable pour les jeunes parents.

Elle est membre du conseil de direction de la Canadian Journalism Foundation ainsi que du conseil consultatif professionnel du programme de journalisme de deux établissements : Ryerson School of Journalism et Sheridan College. Elle siège au conseil d’administration de la Gordon Sinclair Foundation et au conseil consultatif d’Informed Opinions. Elle a aussi siégé au conseil du Concours canadien de journalisme et à celui de l’Organization of News Ombudsmen.

Mme English détient une maîtrise en histoire de l’Université Western Ontario. Pendant le semestre d’hiver 2018, elle enseigne à titre d’Asper Fellow in Media au sein de la faculté d’Information et études médiatiques à l’Université Western.


Jan Robinson

Jan Robinson

Depuis 2012, Jan Robinson est registraire et chef de la direction de l’Ordre des vétérinaires de l’Ontario. Leader dans le domaine de la réglementation professionnelle, Mme Robinson compte plus de 25 ans d’expérience à son actif, offrant vision et direction aux organismes de réglementation et de politiques publiques.

Stratège passionnée, Mme Robinson sait comment former des partenariats et favoriser l’engagement à l’échelle provinciale, nationale et internationale.

Son poste lui permet d’apporter des approches novatrices dans la prestation de programmes réglementaires. Parmi ses contributions majeures, citons : l’élaboration d’un cadre visant l’excellence en gouvernance; la mise en œuvre d’une approche fondée sur le principe de responsabilité, le risque et la preuve pour la réglementation à tous les niveaux de l’organisme; et la gestion active de modifications législatives visant l’accès public et la sécurité.

Elle a donné des conférences et prodigué des conseils sur les systèmes réglementaires et les enjeux qui touchent les professions partout dans le monde. Elle s’intéresse particulièrement au pouvoir d’influence sur les prises de décisions qui affectent le bien public


Richard Steinecke

Richard Steinecke

Richard Steinecke pratique exclusivement le droit de la réglementation professionnelle. Il est éditeur de Grey Areas, un bulletin fort populaire qui publie les derniers développements dans le domaine. Les tribunaux ont cité son ouvrage A Complete Guide to the Regulated Health Professions Act plus d’une douzaine de fois en raison de son caractère exhaustif, même dans les cas portant sur des professions non liées à la santé. Le document est mis à jour deux fois par an.

Ces temps-ci, M. Steinecke passe une grande partie de sa vie à écrire, échanger, éduquer et conseiller sur les enjeux de réglementation professionnelle. Apprenant à vie, il lit toutes les décisions pertinentes des tribunaux canadiens de common law à sa portée. En outre, il détient un certificat en gestion du risque décerné par l’Université de Toronto. En 2015, il a remporté le prix de l’excellence en réglementation du Council on Licensure, Enforcement and Regulation.

M. Steinecke est avocat-conseil à Steinecke Maciura LeBlanc.

101, rue Bloor Ouest, Toronto ON, M5S 0A1 / TÉL. : 416-961-8800 / Sans frais en Ontario : 1-888-534-2222 /
TÉLÉC. : 416-961-8822 / info@oeeo.ca

© 2018 Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l'Ontario

Back To Top

101 Bloor Street West
Toronto ON, M5S 0A1
P: 416-961-8800
Toll Free (Ontario Only): 1-888-534-2222
F: 416-961-8822
info@oct.ca

Ontario College of Teachers logo

Four teachers consult around a table

Find a Teacher

Panel discussion

What does the public expect of regulators?

Kathy English

Kathy English

Kathy English is the public editor of the Toronto Star, a role in which she has served since 2007. Previous to this, she reported and edited for six Canadian daily newspapers including the Star and the Globe and Mail.

She served on the faculty of Ryerson School of Journalism from 1989-1999. After departing Ryerson, she launched websites for two Canadian media companies, SunMedia (Lifewise.ca) and Transcontinental Media (Mochasofa.ca) and also directed the launch of the San Francisco-based parenting website, BabyCenter Canada.

She is an executive board member of the Canadian Journalism Foundation. As well, she is a member of the professional advisory boards of Ryerson School of Journalism and the Sheridan College journalism program. She serves on the board of the Gordon Sinclair Foundation and on the advisory board of Informed Opinions. In past, she served on the boards of the National Newspaper Awards and the Association of News Ombudsmen.

Kathy holds a Masters of History degree from University of Western Ontario. She was the recipient of Western University's Faculty of Information and Media Studies' Asper Teaching Fellowship in the winter of 2018.


Jan Robinson

Jan Robinson

Jan Robinson is currently the Registrar and Chief Executive Office of the College of Veterinarians of Ontario, a position she began in 2012.  A leader in profession-based regulation, Jan has over 25 years of experience providing vision and direction to regulatory and public policy organizations.

She is a keen strategist with the ability to build partnerships and engagement at the provincial, national and international levels.

Jan’s position enables her to bring innovative approaches to the delivery of regulatory programs. Key contributions include the development of a framework to establish governance excellence, implementing an accountability, risk and evidence based approach to regulation at all levels of the organization, and leading legislative change that promotes public access and safety.

She has enjoyed opportunities to speak and to provide advice on regulatory systems and issues across professions and around the world. Her greatest interest is in influencing decision making that impacts public good.


Richard Steinecke

Richard Steinecke

Richard Steinecke practises law exclusively in the area of professional regulation. He is the editor of the widely read Grey Areas newsletter commenting on recent developments in professional regulation. Because of its comprehensive nature, courts and tribunals have cited his book A Complete Guide to the Regulated Health Professions Act well over a dozen times even in cases dealing with non-health professions. The book is updated twice a year.

Today he spends most of his professional life teaching, writing, speaking, training and consulting on professional regulation issues. A life-long learner, Richard reads every Canadian common law court decision on professional regulation he can find and has a Certificate in Risk Management from the University of Toronto. In 2015 he received the Regulatory Excellence award from the Council on Licensure, Enforcement and Regulation (CLEAR).

Richard is counsel to Steinecke Maciura LeBlanc.

101 Bloor Street West, Toronto ON, M5S 0A1, P: 416.961.8800 / Toll Free (Ontario Only): 1.888.534.2222 / F: 416.961.8822 / info@oct.ca

© 2019 Ontario College of Teachers

Back To Top